Detoxification and Maintenance Treatment Services
After the merge of the Office for the Prevention and Treatment of Drug Addiction and Social Welfare Bureau (SWB) in June 1999, and in order to improve Macao drug treatment services, in August 2001, SWB initiated construction plan of Drug Treatment Complex Centre, which started to operate in October 2002, providing a variety of services, including outpatient detoxification treatment service, methadone treatment and maintenance service, treatment and consultation service for drug dependents, counselling service for young drug dependents, activities and support service, counselling and follow-up on infectious diseases, drug urine test and follow-up on social reintegration. In order to cope with the development of Macao medical services, in December 2015, Drug Abuse Treatment and Rehabilitation Division moved to Ilha Verde Centre for Victims of Disaster, 10th Floor. The above-mentioned services of Drug Treatment Complex Centre are provided in various locations. Detoxification and maintenance treatment services are provided in Drug Treatment Centre (Methadone), Carmo, Taipa and Conde de São Januário Hospital, whereas detoxification treatment service for youth are provided in Ilha Verde Youth Counselling Centre.
Due to the development of community service facilities, the Ilha Verde Drug Treatment Centre (Methadone) was established in November 2018 to provide service, while the Drug Abuse Treatment and Rehabilitation Division and Youth Counselling Centre were relocated for operations.
After the reorganization of the relevant services, services provided to the public include:

1. Outpatient Detoxfiication Treatment Service

Help-seekers on detoxification are provided with outpatient health care at community level, medical examination, individual psychological counselling, family counselling, social support and referral services.

Opening hours of outpatient service: Monday to Friday, during normal office hours

2. Methadone Treatment and Maintenance Service

Methadone maintenance treatment programme is provided to individuals addicted to heroin for a long time. The programme consists of medical consultation; nursing care provided by nurses, methadone distribution, treatment monitoring and assessment, and appropriate and necessary regular medical check-up. In addition, it also includes psychological counselling provided by social workers, activities in small groups, referral services, etc.

Opening hours of methadone treatment and maintenance service:
Monday to Sunday, 08:00-20:00.
(The service of medicine distribution is maintained during weekend, Sunday, public holidays and in times of typhoon.)

3. Outpatient Service for Young Drug Dependents

Due to the fact that the problem of young drug dependents is of social concern, Drug Abuse Treatment and Rehabilitation Division renders integrated treatment service provided by inter-disciplinary team, consisting of physicians, nurses, social workers, etc.
It aims to provide diverse treatment services to individuals aged 29 or below addicted to new types of drugs: outpatient medical care of detoxification at community level, hygiene education, physical assessment and health examinations, individual psychological counselling, counselling for families of drug dependents, social support, referral services, etc.

Opening hours of outpatient service for young drug dependents: Monday to Friday, during normal working hours.

4. Counselling and Follow-up on Infectious Diseases of Drug Dependents

Provide intensive counselling, treatment referral and follow-up of cases on infectious diseases, as well as the arrangement of medical examination and counselling on hygiene education, etc.

5. Urine Test and Laboratory Analysis

In order to cope with medical diagnosis, urine tests of the cases will be conducted for commencing appropriate drug treatment plans. Simultaneously, urine test and laboratory analysis will be carried out for cases of sentence suspension, conditioned by drug treatment.

Target Group:

Drug dependents or their family members who request voluntary drug abuse / detoxification treament and rehabilitation services.

Obs.: Personal data of help seekers are absolutely confidential.

Hotlines:

Hotlines: 2835 8844
(Voicemail available)

— Detoxification and Maintenance Treatment Services

*Ilha Verde Drug Treatment Centre(Methadone)
Address: Rua Nova da Ilha Verde, Edifício Cheng I, Bloco 1, 1.º andar
* Areia Preta Drug Treatment Centre (Methadone)
Address: Rua Central da Areia Preta, n.os 599-671, Macau
* Drug Treatment Centre (Methadone), Carmo, Taipa
Address: Estrada Coronel Nicolau de Mesquita, Edifício do Lago, Bloco 1, 1.º andar, Taipa, Macau
* Drug Treatment Centre (Methadone), Centro Hospitalar Conde de São Januário (CHCSJ)
Address: next to Tunnel of Centro Hospitalar Conde de São Januário (CHCSJ)

Appointment with social workers can be arranged in person or by telephone during normal office hours. All data will be kept confidential. No fee is required.

Normal office hours:

Monday to Thursday 09:00 – 13:00, 14:30 – 17:45
Friday 09:00 – 13:00, 14:30 – 17:30

(Confidential and Free of Charge)

What is methadone?
Methadone is a synthetic anesthesia analgesic developed by the Germans during World War II. It was originally used to treat wounded soldiers. In the 1960s, methadone became the main medicine for detoxification therapy in Western countries such as Europe and the United States. Since 2005, methadone maintenance treatment has been promoted in Macao. Heroin addiction has been treated by taking long-term methadone oral solution.
What are the precautions and contraindications of methadone use?
Taking drugs while using methadone may cause an overdose, which may lead to respiratory depression and even death. Like ordinary people, methadone users will also suffer from injuries and illnesses. When one requires the use of other types of medicine, it is best to consult a doctor or pharmacist first. Do not buy or mix medicines without consultation in order to avoid cross-chemical reactions or unstable drug effects.
Methadone is a type of medicine, not a drug, and its medical substitute can reach the following effects:
  1. To reduce the risk of infection and spreading of infectious diseases;
  2. To reduce the need of drugs and financial burden and so reduce crime;
  3. To improve family life and work efficiency;
  4. To improve individual health.
Why should methadone use last at least half a year? Is it possible to stop usage of methadone when the body recovers?
According to the treatment plan, methadone users will discuss the appropriate timing of withdrawal treatment based on the patient's treatment status (including detoxification ethics) at least six months after taking the medicine. The main reason is that detoxification is not only the physical rehabilitation from a drug, but more importantly, changes in social psychology and behavior. If the rehabilitation progress of the latter fails to match this, the patient’s inability to resist addiction will greatly increase the chances of relapse. Therefore, it is required to take methadone for at least six months.
What are the side effects of methadone?
Methadone is a relatively safe medicine for detoxification therapy. At the start of methadone treatment, there may be side effects such as itchy skin or rashes, constipation, sweating, nausea / vomiting, or decreased sexual interest, etc.; most side effects will disappear within a few weeks, while constipation and sweating may still persist.
Medication process
(facial recognition and electronic medical record registration system)
Use voice-operated access control during the medication
Outpatient registration (facial recognition)
Enter the medication room
Take the medication under observation
Say “open the door” to the radio
Leave
Drug Treatment Centres are located at:

 

Ilha Verde Health Centre

 

Hac Sa Wan (Areia Preta) Health Centre

 

Nossa Senhora do Carmo - Lago Health Centre

Case study
Da Man (anonym) is 37 years old, having had 22 years of drug use. Because of this, his relationship with his family used to be very tense. Da Man has been in the drug treatment center many times, but was still unable to cure his drug addiction because he was too addicted. In 2008, Da Man began to receive methadone maintenance treatment, and was eventually able to refuse drugs within three years of methadone use. After a period of time, however, he went back to taking drugs again due to major stress problems in life. Although Da Man received detoxification treatment, he still failed to quit. In 2013, Da Man received the methadone maintenance treatment plan again. During the three years of continuous medication, he successfully rejected the drug. Throughout this time, with encouragement from his family, Da Man was determined to switch to the methadone detoxification plan even though he still had to face addiction problems and physical discomfort a month after stopping the medication. Nevertheless, with a strong will and counselling with social workers (including support on stress management and making good use of free time), Da Man was finally able to build a new life.

戒毒及維持治療服務
預防及治療藥物依賴辦公室自1999年6月與社會工作局合併後,為完善本澳的戒毒服務,社工局於2001年8月開始進行戒毒綜合服務中心的籌建計劃。戒毒綜合服務中心於2002年10月正式投入運作,提供門診戒毒服務、美沙酮維持治療服務、濫藥青少年輔導服務、活動和輔助性質服務、傳染病輔導及跟進、毒品尿液檢測和社會重返跟進工作的綜合服務中心。為配合本澳醫療服務發展及「普遍可及」原則,戒毒綜合服務中心於2015年將上述服務分拆至以下多處地點,有關戒毒及維持治療服務於黑沙環、氹仔嘉模和山頂「藥物治療中心(美沙酮)」開展,而濫藥青少年治療服務則於青洲「青少年輔導中心」開展。基於社區服務設施不斷發展,2018年11月青洲藥物治療中心(美沙酮)投入服務,戒毒康復處及青少年輔導中心一併遷往該處辦公和運作。
經重整服務後,中心現時主要提供的服務包括:

1. 門診戒毒治療服務

為戒毒求助者提供門診社區模式醫療護理、健康檢查、個人心理輔導、家庭輔導、社會支援及轉介等服務。

門診服務開放時間:星期一至五,正常辦公時間

2. 美沙酮維持治療服務

為長期濫用海洛因人士,提供美沙酮維持治療計劃。計劃內容包括醫生面診、護士護理、配發美沙酮藥物、治療跟進及評估、亦會提供所需的身體檢查,此外,亦提供社工心理輔導、小組治療活動及相關服務轉介等。

美沙酮維持治療服務時間:
星期一至日,08:00 – 20:00
(週末、日、公眾假期及颱風日,照常提供發藥服務)

3. 濫藥青少年門診服務

因應青少年吸毒問題備受社會關注,戒毒康復處由跨專業團隊包括醫生、護士和社工等提供綜合治療服務,為29歲或以下吸食新型毒品人士,提供門診社區式戒毒醫藥護理、衛生教育、身體評估及健康檢查、個人心理輔導、濫藥者家人輔導、社會支援及轉介等服務。

濫藥青少年門診服務時間:星期一至五,正常辦公時間

4. 濫藥者防治傳染病輔導及跟進

對中心跟進的傳染病感染個案提供密集式輔導、治療轉介及跟進工作,同時安排醫療檢驗及衛生教育輔導等。

5. 尿檢及化驗工作

配合中心的醫療診斷,為個案進行尿液檢測以開展合適的戒毒治療計劃。同時亦配合緩刑毒措施進行所需的尿檢及化驗項目。

服務對象

有意要求自願戒毒治療及康復服務的藥物依賴者及其家人。
附註:求助者姓名及資料一概保密。

戒毒求助熱線

28358844(附設留言服務)

— 戒毒及維持治療服務

* 青洲藥物治療中心(美沙酮)
地址:澳門青洲新街青怡大廈第一座一樓
* 黑沙環『藥物治療中心(美沙酮)』
地址:澳門黑沙環中街18地段
* 氹仔嘉模『藥物治療中心(美沙酮)』
地址:氹仔美副將馬路湖畔大廈第一座一樓
* 山頂『藥物治療中心(美沙酮)』(僅提供預約服務)
地址:山頂醫院隧道口

新求助者可於正常辦公時間內親臨青洲藥物治療中心(美沙酮)或致電約見社工。所有資料一概保密,費用全免。

正常辦公時間:

星期一至四 09:00 – 13:00,14:30 – 17:45
星期五   09:00 – 13:00,14:30 – 17:30

<所有資料一概保密,費用全免>

甚麼是美沙酮?
美沙酮是二戰時期由德國人研製的人工合成麻醉鎮痛藥,原作治療傷兵之用,在上世紀60年代美沙酮成為歐美等西方國家的主要戒毒藥物,本澳則從2005年開始推行美沙酮維持治療,並通過長期服用美沙酮口服液來治療吸毒者的海洛因成癮。
服用美沙酮有什麼注意事項及禁忌?
在服用美沙酮的同時吸食毒品,有可能造成藥物過量,引致呼吸壓抑,甚至死亡。和普通人一樣,美沙酮使用者也會經歷傷病困擾,當需要接受其他藥物治療時,最好先請教醫生或藥劑師,不要胡亂買藥或混藥服用,以免藥物間出現交叉化學反應或出現藥效強弱不穩定的情況。
美沙酮是藥物而非毒品,其醫療替代品方案,可達致以下效果:
  1. 減低傳染病毒感染或傳播的危機;
  2. 減低對毒品的需求及金錢負擔,進而減少犯罪;
  3. 改善家庭生活及工作能力;
  4. 增進個人健康。
為何美沙酮最少要服用半年?身體好轉不可以停藥嗎?
根據治療計劃,美沙酮使用者最少服藥半年後,才根據病者治療情況(包括戒毒操守能力)討論脫出治療是否合適時機,主要原因是戒毒不單是身體康復,更重要是社會心理和行為的改變,如果後者的康復進度未能配合,無力面對心癮而引至重吸機會便大增,故才有最少服藥半年的要求。
美沙酮有什麼
副作用?
美沙酮是較安全的戒毒藥物,初時服藥可能有皮膚搔癢、出疹、便秘、多汗、噁心/嘔吐或性趣減低等;但大部份的副作用會在數週內消失,而便秘及多汗仍可能會持續存在。
服藥流程
(面相辨識電子
病歴登記系統)
服藥過程使用聲控門禁系統
門診登記面相辨識
進入服藥房
監控服藥
向收音器呼喚『開門』
離開
藥物治療中心
地點分佈:

 

青洲衛生中心

 

黑沙環衛生中心

 

氹仔湖畔衛生中心

案例分享
大文(化名),37歲,吸毒約22年,曾因吸毒導致與家人關係緊張;而大文於吸毒期間曾多次進出戒毒中心,由於心癮太大,最終未能成功戒除毒癮。於2008年,大文開始接受美沙酮維持治療,在服藥的三年期間能成功拒絶吸食毒品。期後由於生活中面對重大的壓力問題而再次重吸,大文雖然有接受脫毒治療,但仍未能成功戒毒。於2013年,大文再次接受美沙酮維持治療計劃,在持續服藥的三年期間,個案能成功拒絶毒品;同時在家人的鼓勵下,大文決心轉入美沙酮戒毒計劃,雖然仍要面對心癮問題及停藥後一個月的身體不適,但在堅定的意志及社工的輔導(包括教導壓力的處理及善用空閒的時間),大文最終能成功重建新生。